RESOURCE GUIDE

MANDATORY REPORTING OF CHILD ABUSE &
NEGLECT IN DELAWARE

Iseethesigns.org

800-292-9582

B 'MAKE THE CALL.

YA\
FrIR

Contact the State of Delaware —
Child Protection Accountability Commission for questions at
302-255-1730.

Created August 2079




Table of Contents

Delaware’s Child Abuse Reporting Law
Failure to Report

Handling a Disclosure

Minimal Facts

Information Needed to Make a Report
Making a Report

Division of Family Services (DFS) Response
Multidisciplinary Team (MDT) Response
Child Abuse & Neglect Definitions

Child Abuse & Neglect Indicators

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Additional Resources

RO OO Ul U1 A WNN=_2

— —)




Reporting Law 8

Under 16 Del. C. § 903, “any person, agency, organization, or entity who knows or in
good faith suspects child abuse or neglect shall make a report.” This means that
every person in Delaware is mandated to report child abuse and neglect. In addition,
agencies, organizations, and entities will be held accountable when individuals fail to
report.

The law also clarifies that “no individual with knowledge of child abuse or neglect, or
knowledge that leads to a good faith suspicion of child abuse or neglect, shall rely
on another individual who has less direct knowledge to call the report line.” This
means that an individual does not satisfy his/her statutory, child abuse mandatory
reporting obligations if he/she relies on another person without direct knowledge to
make the report on his/her behalf.

However, if there are multiple people with direct knowledge of child abuse or neglect,
a joint report may be made by one person, but it must include all persons with joint
knowledge of the known or suspect incident of child abuse or neglect. The best
practice would be for all the individuals with direct knowledge to call the Report Line
together.

You can view the statute online at hitps.//delcode.delaware.gov/.

Failure to Report

B

Individuals who fail to report child abuse or neglect may be liable for a civil penalty.
The Division of Family Services (DFS) reports all persons, agencies, organizations,
and entities to the Department of Justice for investigation if they fail to make
mandatory reports of child abuse or neglect to the DFS Report Line. The civil penalty
must not exceed $10,000 for the first violation, or $50,000 for subsequent
violations.

You can view the Penalty for Violation at htips.//delcode.delaware.gov/. 1




Handling a Disclosure

Disclosure means that you were chosen by the child as the person he or she trusts
enough to tell. If a child discloses abuse or neglect, it is your duty to make a report. It
is also important to react responsibly and calmly by acknowledging their courage for
sharing and by using affirmations like “I believe you,” and “This is not your fault.”

Your reaction to the disclosure may have a significant impact on the child. It is
important that you do not overreact or shut the child down. It is also important to
gather the Minimal Facts (who, what, when and where) without interrogating the child
or offering your own gap-fillers when they are telling the story. Listen and ask open-
ended questions if necessary.

Minimal Facts

Minimal Fact Questions may be necessary when an individual has knowledge or
reasonable suspicion of child abuse or neglect AND must make a report to the DFS
Report Line. Minimal Fact Questions help reporters to obtain the information needed
to make a clear and concise report of child abuse and neglect, and it focuses
reporters on the essential information — who, what, when, and where?

There are three scenarios when individuals may have knowledge or reasonable
suspicion of abuse or neglect:
1. Disclosure - A child discloses to you
2. Discover - You witness the act by an adult (or youth for sexual abuse
incidents) with a child
3. Reason to Suspect — You have seen behavioral and/or physical signs of
abuse or neglect with child

Individuals must ask Minimal Fact Questions when: A child makes a disclosure and
provides some of the Minimal Facts (or a general statement — such as “l was beaten,
abused or neglected.”) OR when behavioral and/or physical signs of maltreatment
are observed. If you witness an act of abuse or neglect, ensure the child is physically
safe, immediately contact the police and then call DFS. It is not necessary to ask the

minimal facts in situations where the child is imminent danger. ,




Minimal Facts (Cont.) @

The Minimal Fact Questions are as follows:
. What happened?
. Who did that to you? Are there other victims/witnesses?
« Where did this happen?
« When did this happen?

Open-ended questions, such as what happened, help a child tell his/her story. Where
is helpful in determining the appropriate legal jurisdiction so the correct police
department can be notified. When is important as it relates to the need (or not) for
an immediate medical exam (i.e. evidence collection). After asking what, when and
where, if the child discloses abuse or neglect it is okay to ask the question who did
that to you.

In addition, asking if there are other victims or witnesses assists DFS in corroborating
the child’s statements and assessing whether anyone else was present when the
abuse occurred. Make sure to write down the child’s exact words. Also, try to limit
the number of persons the child interacts with so the child will not have to tell the
information over and over again. Finally, if the child is unable to communicate, then
make the report based on your observations of the behavioral and/or physical
indicators of child abuse or neglect.

Information Needed

The DFS Report Line may ask reporters to provide information such as:
. Child’s statements
. Physical symptoms and/or behavioral changes
. Any information about the way the caregiver’s behavior is impacting the care
of the child
. Alleged child victim’s physical health, mental health, educational status
. Medical attention that may be needed for injuries
. Family composition
« Any information that could put the child’'s or DFS worker’s safety in peril

Demographics can usually be found in the child’s records. If you already have the
information, then there is no need to ask the child. Prepare to be on the phone call for

about 20 minutes so that you can make a detailed report. 3




Making a Report

l: IIIIIIIIIIIII
1111111111111
TTTTTTITITITT
lllllllllll

800-292-9582 iseethesigns.org

All suspected child abuse and neglect of any minor in the State of Delaware must
be reported to the DFS Report Line at 1-800-292-9582. When a child’s life is in
danger, you should call 911 immediately and then make a call to the Report Line.

Less serious reports of child abuse or neglect may be submitted online to DFS at
Iseethesigns.org. Online reports satisfy your obligation under the law so long as the
online reporting tool is utilized appropriately. Please note that online reports are not
reviewed immediately like Report Line calls. If in doubt about whether a Report Line
call is needed, the online reporting tool will provide mandated reporters with
direction, as long as the questions are answered accurately. If the tool determines
that a call to the Report Line is warranted, please make the call immediately.
Mandated reporters must keep in mind that the child’'s safety could be in jeopardy if
a report is not received in a timely manner.

Beginning in May 2012, DFS began implementation of a new model for how reports
are handled at the Report Line. The new model is called Structured Decision
Making® and there are three main questions that will be asked of the reporter:

- What are you worried about?

. What is working well?

« What needs to happen next?
These questions act as guides for helping Report Line staff understand the complete
scope and nature of the report.

Spanish translation is available 24/7. When the reporter leaves their name and
number, a translator is on call and will call the reporter back to take the report.

Every report is digitally recorded and reviewed by a DFS Report Line supervisor. If in-
formed that your report does not meet criteria for investigation and you continue to
have concerns, you should ask to speak to a Report Line supervisor.



https://kids.delaware.gov/fs/fs_iseethesigns.shtml

DFS Response

DFS is required to receive all suspected reports of child abuse and neglect in the
state. Upon receipt of a report of suspected abuse or neglect, DFS will do one of
three things:

12 o

Accept the report & Refer the report to law Document the report but
investigate the allegations enforcement for not investigate the
or conduct a family investigation; or allegations.
assessment;

DFS responds according to the priority level given to each investigation case. DFS
Response times are: P1: Within 24 hours; P2: Within 72 hours; P3: Within 10 days.

MDT Response

The Delaware Code requires a comprehensive investigation by a multidisciplinary
team (MDT) for cases of child abuse and neglect. This approach is described in a
Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the MDT, which consists of DFS, law
enforcement, the Department of Justice and the Children’s Advocacy Center.

MDT Roles and Responsibilities:

. DFS— is required to receive all suspected reports of child abuse and neglect in the
state. However, DFS is only responsible for investigating intrafamilial and
institutional cases. The only exception to this is cases of child trafficking. While
extrafamilial cases must be reported to DFS, DFS is only responsible for receiving,
documenting and referring these cases to law enforcement for investigation.

. Law enforcement agencies— are responsible for conducting criminal investiga-
tions of child abuse and neglect. Reports may be made to law enforcement but
not in lieu of contacting DFS.

. Department of Justice (DOJ)— are responsible for the prosecution of criminal
cases throughout the State from misdemeanors to murders.

« Children’s Advocacy Center (CAC)— Whenever appropriate, cases will also be
referred to the CAC for a forensic interview, medical exam and/or mental health
screening.

Please click here to view the MDT Best Practices MOU 5



https://courts.delaware.gov/childadvocate/cpac/cpac_reports.aspx

Definitions of Abuse & Neglect @

Physical Abuse

Abuse is defined as causing any physical injury to a child through unjustified force,
torture, negligent treatment, sexual abuse, exploitation, maltreatment, mistreatment,
or any means other than accident. [11 Del. C. § 1100 (1)] Physical injury is defined in
statute as any impairment of physical condition or pain. [11 Del. C. § 1100 (5)] This
means that injury and pain are considered when a case is received regarding allega-
tions of abuse against a child. However, pain and injury alone DO NOT make the force
unjustified. In fact, Delaware law does not prohibit physical discipline or corporal
punishment as sometimes the use of force is for the purpose of safeguarding or
promoting the welfare of a child. For instance, a person intentionally inflicting pain to
cause harm to a child and not for the purposes of discipline is vastly different than a
person spanking a child to address the child’s misbehavior.

Abuse occurs when a person causes any physical injury to a child through unjustified
force. The Delaware Code identifies specific behaviors in which physical injury to a
child is never justified, even if it did not result in an observable injury to a child. These
behaviors are: Throwing, Kicking, Burning, Cutting, Hitting with a closed fist, Interfer-
ing with breathing, Use/threatened use of a deadly weapon, Prolonged deprivation of
sustenance/medication, and Doing any other act that is likely to cause/does cause
physical injury, disfigurement, mental distress or substantial risk of serious physical
injury or death. [11 Del. C. § 468(1)c.] Any and all of these incidents require an
immediate report to the DFS Report Line, and DFS is required to notify law enforce-
ment of potential criminal violations against a child.

Reporters are not responsible for determining if the use of force against a child is
justified or unjustified. DFS or law enforcement will make that determination after
considering the following: who exercised the force; what was the purpose of the
force; and whether the force was reasonable given the size, age, and baseline health
conditions of the child; and the location, strength and duration of the force applied to
the child.

Sexual Abuse

Sexual Abuse is defined as any act against a child that is described as sex offense in
the Criminal Code, including: sexual harassment, indecent exposure, incest, unlawful
sexual contact, rape, sexual exploitation of a child, or sexual abuse of a child by a

person in a position of trust, authority or supervision. [10 Del. C. § 901 (21)]
6




Definitions of Abuse & Neglect @

Sexual Abuse (continued)
Delaware’s consent law is broken down into these age groups:
« Children less than 12 years old: CANNOT legally consent to sexual contact.
« Children ages 12-15 years old: can ONLY consent with someone who is no
more than 4 years older than the child.
« Children ages 16-17 years old: can consent with someone under 30 years
old.
« ALL children under 18: CANNOT legally consent to sexual contact with ANY-
ONE in a position of trust, authority, or supervision over them.

Commercial Sexual Exploitation

Commercial Sexual Exploitation is the broad term under which Domestic Minor Sex
Trafficking (Child Trafficking) is categorized. It includes the recruitment, harboring,
transportation, provision, or obtaining of a person for the purpose of a commercial
sex act, in which the commercial sex act is induced by force, fraud, or coercion, or in
which the person induced to perform such an act has not attained 18 years of age.

It can be difficult and dangerous for victims to leave their traffickers as the perpetra-
tors typically use various methods of “conditioning”, such as starvation, confinement,
physical abuse, rape, forced drug use, and threats of violence towards the victim and/
or their families. Victims are also likely to suffer from long-term physical and psycho-
logical trauma.

While any child can be targeted by a trafficker, research has shown that traffickers

often target children with increased vulnerabilities, including:

« Children who are chronically missing or who frequently run away (especially 3+
missing incidents)

. Children who have experienced childhood sexual abuse, especially if the abuse
was unreported or unaddressed, or resulted in the child being removed from the
home

« Children who have experienced prior sexual assault or rape

« Children with significant substance abuse issues or who live with someone who
has significant substance abuse issues

« Children who identify as LGBTQ and have been kicked out or who have been
stigmatized by their family.

Please click here to view the Juvenile Trafficking Pre-assessment Checklist 7



https://courts.delaware.gov/forms/download.aspx?id=94538

Definitions of Abuse & Neglect @

Emotional Maltreatment

Emotional Maltreatment is sometimes defined as psychological maltreatment, which

includes both emotional abuse and emotional neglect:

. Emotional Abuse— threats to inflict undue physical or emotional harm, and/or
chronic or recurring incidents of ridiculing, demeaning, making derogatory
remarks or cursing. [10 Del. C. § 901 (10)]

. Emotional Neglect— incidents of isolating/shunning, rejecting, or ignoring a child.

Domestic Violence

Domestic Violence (DV) is a pattern of abusive behaviors and tactics used by one

partner to gain and maintain power and control over another intimate partner.

Children of all ages can be deeply affected by DV. Cases involving children must be

reported to DFS when a child is experiencing:

« Physical Harm— child is injured; child is suspected to be injured, since a weapon
or potentially dangerous object has been used; or child has attempted to physical-
ly intervene.

« Emotional Harm— child is aware (sight or sound) of an incident perpetrated
against his/her caregiver and it involves a significant injury to the victim or use of
a weapon; and child has a diagnosed mental health condition or behaviors that
signify severe psychological harm.

Neglect

Neglect occurs when, while having the ability and financial means to care for a child,

the parent or caregiver:

. Fails to provide necessary care, which may include food, shelter, or medical care;

. Fails to provide supervision appropriate for the child; or

. Chronically engages in substance abuse and the abuse negatively impacts the
care of the child. [10 Del. C. § 901 (18)]

Dependency
Dependency is not the same as neglect. Dependency occurs when a parent or
caregiver does not have the ability or financial means to provide necessary care for
the child, or when the child is living in a non-related home on an extended basis.
Reports must be made to DFS for dependent children or children living with an adult
individual who is not an adult relative. The term “extended basis” is used to suggest
that the child resides in the home, as opposed to just visiting. It is the responsibility
of DFS to determine if the living arrangement has been on an extended basis and to
explore the appropriateness of the living arrangement through interviews, a home as-
sessment, and background checks. [10 Del. C. § 901 (8)]

8




Indicators of Abuse & Neglect

Category

Physical Indicators

Behavioral Indicators

Physical
Abuse

Unexplained bruising, lacerations,
fractures or burns, human bite
marks, or bald spots
Unable to use an arm/bear weight
Wearing clothing that covers body
when not appropriate

Complaining of soreness
Shrinking at the approach of
adults
Reports injury by caregiver

Sexual
Abuse

Difficulty walking or sitting
Bedwetting/soiling
Sexually Transmitted Infections or
early pregnancies
Exhibiting inappropriate sexual
behaviors for developmental stage

Runs away, attempts suicide
. Refusal to be left alone
Significant changes in mood,
behavior, appetite, school
performance

Neglect

Poor hygiene, inappropriate dress
Consistent lack of supervision
Unattended physical problems or
medical needs

Consistent hunger
Poor social skills
. Stealing food
Poor school attendance or social
appearance

Child
Trafficking

Has multiple cell phones or
electronic devices or large
amounts of cash or prepaid cards
Name or symbol tattooed, burned,
or branded onto his/her body
Referencing traveling to other
cities or states or traveling job
opportunities (e.g. modeling,
singing, dancing)

Significant changes in behavior,
including increased virtual
behavior, or associating with a
new group of friends
Refusing to ask for help or resist-
ing offers to get out of the situa-
tion (not identifying as a victim)
Being preoccupied with “getting

money”

Emotional
Maltreat-
ment

Delay in physical or emotional
development
Inability to develop emotional
bonds with others
Social isolation

Is either inappropriately adult

(e.g. parenting other children) or

inappropriately infantile (e.g.

frequently rocking or
head-banging)

Shows extremes in behavior,

such as being overly compliant

or demanding, extremely
passive, or aggressive

9




FAQs

1. Can | be held liable for making a report of child abuse or neglect?

As long as you make a report of child abuse or neglect in good faith you will have
immunity from any liability, civil or criminal so long as the report is made without
malice or willful misconduct. [16 Del. C. § 908]

2. What if my organization/entity requires me to notify an administrator or other
employee (such as a School Resource Officer (SRO), counselor or nurse) before
making a report to DFS?

Some organizations/entities have internal policies that require employees to report
child abuse and neglect to an administrator prior to making the report. In Delaware, we
have been very clear that a report must first be made to the DFS Report Line. Then, the
administrator should be notified immediately. This is because there have been situa-
tions where an administrator has discouraged an individual from making a report, or
has required approval prior to making a report. Agencies, organizations or entities
may be exposed to civil penalties if an administrator makes a decision not to report on
behalf of the individual.

3. Do | satisfy my statutory, child abuse mandatory reporting obligations by only
contacting the law enforcement agency?

No. The statute requires an immediate report to the Division of Family Services (DFS)
Report Line. Law enforcement may also be contacted but not in lieu of contacting
DFS. [16 Del. C. § 904]

4. Am | violating HIPAA when | make a report?
No. The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) of 1996 does not
preclude reporting suspected child abuse.

5. Can information about a DFS investigation be shared?

In general, DFS will share information only when there is a signed release of
information (informed, time limited consent). However, DFS, law enforcement, the
Children’s Advocacy Center and the Department of Justice exchange information
on families and children when this information is needed to assist an investigation
involving a shared client.

6. Can | be told any information about the disposition of my report?
DFS Report Line staff will call mandated reporters to provide the general disposition
of the report. [16 Del. C. § 903]

10




FAQs

7. What if | do not have proof that a child is being abused or neglected?

You do not need to have proof, evidence, or a confession of any alleged abuse or ne-
glect to make a report to the DFS Report Line. The legal system uses various burdens
of proof - including beyond a reasonable doubt (sure, not certain, of the accused guilt
— in criminal cases), preponderance of the evidence (more likely than not — used in
civil cases), and reasonable suspicion. Beyond a reasonable doubt is the highest bur-
den of proof. Reasonable suspicion is a lower burden of proof and may be quantified
at around 10% to 15% likelihood of guilt. Most state laws only require reasonable sus-
picion or reasonable cause to suspect or believe that abuse or neglect is occurring.
This means that you do not have to have proof just knowledge to reasonably suspect
abuse or neglect though physical or behavioral signs of maltreatment.

8. What are the categories of child abuse and neglect?

Child abuse and neglect is categorized based on the identity of the perpetrator. The

three categories are: intrafamilial, extrafamilial, and institutional.

« Intrafamilial- Any child abuse or neglect involving a parent, guardian, custodian, or
any other members of the child’'s family or household.

. Extrafamilial- Any child abuse or neglect involving an alleged perpetrator who is
not a member of the child's family or household AND does not involve institutional
abuse/neglect.

. Institutional—- Any child abuse or neglect which has occurred to a child in the
custody of the Department of Services for Children, Youth & Families (DSCYF) and/
or placed in a facility, center or home operated, contracted or licensed by DSCYF.

9. Should I call the DFS Report Line to report a child that is in crisis??

If you become aware of a child in crisis (i.e. suicide talk or attempts) a report should
be made to the Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services 24-Hour Mobile
Response and Stabilization Services at 1-800-969-HELP (4357). This will ensure that
the child is connected to the appropriate services immediately.

10. Does physical violence between students (or teens dating) need to be reported?
Physical violence between students does not need to be reported to the DFS Report
Line. However, any physical violence between a student and school employee or be-
tween a student and parent, caregiver or other minor (if acting as a caregiver) needs
to be reported to DFS.

Please click here to view the Statutory Reporting Requirements for School Employees
11



https://courts.delaware.gov/childadvocate/cpac/cpac_reports.aspx

FAQs

11. What is the difference between physical abuse and accidental injury?

Keep the following in mind when determining if an injury is accidental:

« Cuts and bruises caused from accidents normally occur on bony areas of the body.

« Reoccurring injuries likely indicate abuse.

. If a series of injuries appear in a pattern or resemble an object, the injury may have
been inflicted.

. If the child’s or caregiver’'s explanation for the injury is inconsistent with the facts,
the injury would be suspicious.

« Suspect abuse if there was a delay in seeking medical attention.

12. What is considered “normal” vs. abusive sexual behavior in children?

Childhood sexual behavior is common and varies based on age/developmental level.

However, you should call the Report Line for concerns with childhood sexual behavior

that:

. Is clearly beyond the child’s developmental stage (a three-year-old attempting to
kiss an adult’s genitals).

« Involves threats, force, or aggression.

. Involves children of widely different ages or abilities (an 11-year-old “playing
doctor” with a four-year-old).

13. Does sexual contact or violence between students (or teens dating) need to be
reported?

Any sexual contact or violence that occurs between students, teens dating, students
and school employees, or students and parents, caregivers or other minors must be
reported to the DFS Report Line.

Please click here to view the Statutory Reporting Requirements for School Employees

14. Does sexting need to be reported?
Sexting or youth produced sexual images are nude, sexually suggestive, or explicit im-
ages possessed and/or transmitted by way of cell phone, electronic device or online.
The transmission of youth-produced sexual images makes sexting unlawful. A report
must be made to the DFS Report Line under the following circumstances:

. Child did not consent to being photographed or recorded, or

. Cannot consent to the sexual act or to being photographed or recorded due

to his or her age (under 12).

12



https://courts.delaware.gov/childadvocate/cpac/cpac_reports.aspx

FAQs

15. At what age can a child be left alone?

Delaware law does not specify an age when a child may be left alone. For any aged
child, DFS considers factors such as the child’s level of functioning, maturity, physical
and mental health, disabilities, length of time alone, and the time of day. Mandated
reporters must contact the Report Line if they have knowledge or reasonable
suspicion that a child has been left alone for a period of time that is inappropriate for
the child's age or developmental status. DFS recommends never leaving a child alone
in a car, regardless of age.

16. Are mandated reporters statutorily required to notify DFS of child abuse or
neglect that occurred out of state?

Yes. Delaware’s child abuse mandatory reporting law does not limit the reports of
child abuse or neglect to incidents that occur only within Delaware. The Report Line
will accept calls of child abuse or neglect that may have occurred out of state.

17. Does the law require reports about past child abuse or neglect disclosed by an

adult?

Delaware’s child abuse mandatory reporting law does not include a time exception

to the reporting requirement. Therefore, reports about past child abuse or neglect are

also required. Reports must be made even when it is suspected that the alleged

offender is deceased, was charged/prosecuted, or is unknown, and this information

must be corroborated by the proper authorities. Please also remember:

« Young adults may still be in the custody of DSCYF until the age of 21, so DSCYF
must be notified of these allegations.

« In other situations where one particular victim of abuse or neglect is now an adult,
other children may still be at risk of victimization by the alleged offender.

18. Does this obligation exist if the adult refuses to provide information?
Yes, so long as the information originally provided by the individual creates a good
faith suspicion.

19. Does this obligation exist if the adult provides a vague disclosure (e.g. | was
raped as a child) and no other minimal facts (who, what, when, and where)?
Yes. A report must still be made to the DFS Report Line.

20. Is this requirement limited to sexual abuse since there is no statute of limita-
tions?
No. There is no time exception for making a mandatory report in both child abuse and

child neglect incidents.
13




If you suspect that a child 1s
belng abused or neglected:

Gather the Minimal Facts:

What happened?

When did that happen? @

Where did that happen? L/
Who did that to you?

Are there other victims or witnesses?

Make a report to the Division of
Family Services:

24/7 Report Line:
1-800-292-9582

Online:
1seethesigns.org

State of Delaware Child Protection Accountability Commission




Making a Report to the Division of Family Services (“DFS”) Child Abuse and Neglect Report Line

2. Discover:
You Witness the Act by an 3. Reason to Suspect:
Adult (or Youth for Sexual You have Seen Behavioral and/or Physical Sipns (“Signs™) of Abuse ot
Abuse Incidents) with a Neglect in Child
Child

1. Disclosure:
Child Discloses to You

Minimal Facts are Minimal Facts are
Disclosed by Child Missing
Child Discloses All of | You Must Ask 1 or %+ Ensure the Child is
the Following More of the Physically Safe and
Information to You: Minimal Fact Isolated from the Alleged Where did it happen?
% What happened; Questions to gather Perpetrator. If the responses to the three questions above indicate harm was caused by

* When it happened; | additional details: % Immediately Contact an individual whose identity is not revealed, then ask: Did anyone do that to
* Where the alleged What happened? Police. your

incident happened; When did it
AND, happen?
Name of alleged Where dud 1t Child Makes Disclosure; OR

perpetrator. happen? Child's Injuries are Suspicious for Abuse and Child Does Not Provide a
Did anyone do Reasonable Explanation; OR

that to you? Child Does Not Provide Explanation for Behavioral and/or Physical Signs
(Le. sudden change in behavior or black eye) and Abuse or Neglect is 5till
Suspected.

Safety of Child You Must Ask Minimal Fact Questions

*,

What happened?
When did it happen?

+, +, +,
LI I

Response

Abuse /Neglect Suspected

Report not Needed — Document

Report to DFS Child Abuse and Neglect Report Line Situation and Observe Child

All persons with direct knowledge must make an immediate report to the DFS Report Line at 1-800-292-9552 OR
complete an Online Report at ISeetheSigns org (if applicable). Please also be aware that Delaware law has clarified that
mandatory reporters cannot rely upon a person with less direct Enowledge to call the DFS Report Line. Police may also
be called if you are concerned about the child's immediate safety. You must not tell the parent or caregiver that a report
is being made for the child’s safety.

No Disclosure of Abuse or
Neglect Made by Child;

Information Needed to Make Report AND

Harve records available to provide demographics, parent information, educational status, and primary language for
family. If known, you must share concerns for siblings, domestic violence, substance abuse, dangerous animals and
weapons. DFS Report Line staff will also ask the following questions: What are you worried about? What is working
M.Mm.._ww __..uﬂﬁﬁ do you want to happen next? Please note: DES Report Line staff may ask_you to gather addifional information from the Origin;
iid viciin. !

Child Provides Explanation
for Injuries that is Consistent
with having an Accidental

Post Report and Information Sharing OR

In general, DFS will share information only when there is a signed release of information from the parent or caregiver.
Please contact the caseworker directly to obtain this information or to report additional concerns related to the child.
However, if a new incident of abuse or neglect occurs, the information should be reported directly to the DFS Report
Line.

Signs Relate to Other Medical,
Psychological or Social Issues
and Not Abuse or Neglect.




Mandatory Reporting Law

Call to Report Abuse

All suspected child abuse and neglect must be reported to the 24-hour Division of Family Services
(DFS) Child Abuse and Neglect Report line at 1-800-292-9582. You may also call any Law Enforce-
ment Agency or 911, but not in lieu of contacting DFS. You are not required to provide proof. Any-
one who makes a good faith report based on reasonable grounds is immune from prosecution.

Reporting Law: Title 16 Del. C.

§ 903 Reports Required

Any person, agency, organization or entity who knows or in good faith suspects child abuse or ne-
glect shall make a report in accordance with § 904 of this title. For purposes of this section, "person”
shall include, but shall not be limited to, any physician, any other person in the healing arts including
any person licensed to render services in medicine, osteopathy or dentistry, any intern, resident,
nurse, school employee, social worker, psychologist, medical examiner, hospital, health care institu-
tion, the Medical Society of Delaware or law-enforcement agency. In addition to and not in lieu of re-
porting to the Division of Family Services, any such person may also give oral or written notification
of said knowledge or suspicion to any police officer who is in the presence of such person for the
purpose of rendering assistance to the child in question or investigating the cause of the child's inju-
ries or condition.

§ 904 Nature and content of report; to whom made

Any report of child abuse or neglect required to be made under this chapter shall be made by con-
tacting the Child Abuse and Neglect Report Line for the Department of Services for Children, Youth
and Their Families. An immediate oral report shall be made by telephone or otherwise. Reports and
the contents thereof including a written report, if requested, shall be made in accordance with the
rules and regulations of the Division, or in accordance with the rules and regulations adopted by the
Division. No individual with knowledge of child abuse or neglect or knowledge that leads to a good
faith suspicion of child abuse or neglect shall rely on another individual who has less direct
knowledge to call the aforementioned Report Line.

§ 908 Immunity from Liability

Anyone participating in good faith in the making of a report pursuant to this chapter, performing a
medical examination without the consent of those responsible for the care, custody and control of
the child pursuant to §906 (b) (5) of this chapter or exercising emergency protective custody in com-
pliance with 907 of this chapter shall have immunity from any liability civil or criminal that might
otherwise exit and such immunity shall extent to participation in any judicial proceedings resulting
from the above actions taken in good faith. This section shall not limit liability of any health care
provider for personal injury claims due to medical negligence that occurs as a result of any examina-
tion performed pursuant to this §906 (b)3 of this Title.

§ 914 Penalty for violation

(@) Whoever violates § 903 of this title shall be liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for
the first violation, and not to exceed $50,000 for any subsequent violation.

(b) In any action brought under this section, if the court finds a violation, the court may award costs
and attorneys' fees.



Community Resources

Helplines

Delaware Helpline
211

Mobile Crisis (Adult Services)
1-800-652-2929 (NCC)
1-800-345-6785 (KC/SC)

Child Priority Response Crisis Helpline
1-800-969-4357 (HELP) or Text DE to 741741

Domestic Violence Hotline
NCC: (302) 762-6110
KC/SC: (302) 422-8058

ContactLifeline Crisis Helpline
(Sexual Assault)
NCC: (302) 761-9100 KC/SC: 1-800-262-9800

National Center for Missing and
Exploited Children - CyberTipline
www.cybertipline.com
1-800-THE-LOST (1-800-843-5678)

RAINN - National Sexual Assault
Hotline
1-800-656-4673 (HOPE)

Delaware Victim Services
1-800-VICTIM-1

Healing Resources- Treatment Providers

Delaware Guidance - Children
NCC: (302) 652-3948

KC: (302) 678-3020

SC: (302) 645-5338

SOAR, Survivors of Abuse In Recovery
NCC: (302) 655-9049

KC/SC: (302) 422-3811

Lewes: (302) 645-4903

Jewish Family Services of Delaware
(302) 478-9411

La Esperanza Community Center
SC: (302) 854-9262

Additional Resources

Children’s Advocacy Center of Delaware
NCC:(302) 651-4566

KC: (302) 741-2123

SC: (302) 854-0323

www.cacofde.org

Beau Biden Foundation for the
Protection of Children

Patty Dailey Lewis, Executive Director
(302) 477-2018
www.beaubidenfoundation.org

Prevent Child Abuse Delaware
www.pcadelaware.org

Darkness to Light
www.D2L.org

Stop it Now
www.stopitnow.com

Child Inc. — Runaway & Homeless Youth
(302) 762-6373

For more information on the Delaware Initiative to train 55,000 Delaware adults
or to schedule additional training: stewards@beaubidenfoundation.org
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