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The following presentation was developed by the Child Protection Accountability 
Commission to provide a uniform mandatory reporting training and to help 
mandated reporters understand the law and their reporting requirements. 
Additionally, recent legislation increased the need for training statewide.  



Our most vulnerable population of child victims is Infants, toddlers, and special needs 
children, and they are dependent on the community at large to protect them.  In order to 
prevent harm to these children, it is important to understand how to identify and report child 
abuse and neglect. With that being said, definitive recognition of abuse or neglect is not 
your responsibility. You are responsible for reporting any reasonable suspicion of abuse or 
neglect. It is important to note that a lack of recognition of child abuse or neglect is 
DIFFERENT than failing to report. Please understand that reporting abuse and neglect 
keeps children safe by assisting families in receiving necessary service or it may help to 
disrupt or terminate a cycle of maltreatment.  
 
 
 
 
  



Children are at a higher risk to be abused or neglected if they are birth to age 6 or disabled. 
During Federal Fiscal Year 2009, one third of the child victims were less than age 4 and 
11% of the child victims were reported as having a disability. 
For example, this higher rate of abuse and neglect occurs in: 
Premature infants and children with Colic or Gastro esophageal reflux disease in which 
common symptoms include frequent or recurring vomiting, frequent or persistent cough, 
refusing to eat or difficulty eating, crying with eating, heartburn, gas, or abdominal pain 
Additionally, Children with Physical Disabilities, Developmental Disabilities, Chronic 
Illness, or Emotional and behavioral difficulties (such as Autism orADHD) are also at a 
higher risk to be abused or neglect.  
(Source for both statistics: DHHS, ACF Child Maltreatment 2009) 
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During Federal fiscal year 2009, an estimated 3.3 million referrals were received by child 
protection service agencies. Of those referrals, 61.9% were screened in for a response and 
25 % of those were substantiated for abuse or neglect. More than 75 percent (78.3%) of 
children were victims of neglect; More than 15 percent (17.8%) were victims of physical 
abuse; Less than 10 percent (9.5%) were victims of sexual abuse; and Less than 10 percent 
(7.6%) were victims of psychological maltreatment.  
Children under the age of 1 had the highest rate of victimization at 12.6%. In addition, 
1,770 children died as a result of child abuse or neglect, and 80.8% of all child fatalities 
occurred to children younger than 4 years old. These are deaths that may have been 
prevented if the abuse was reported in time.  
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In Delaware in Fiscal Year 2011, the Division of Family Services or DFS received 14,010 
reports of abuse or neglect. 53% of those reports were investigated by DFS and 1,651 
cases were substantiated. 



Next, we are going to discuss Delaware’s Mandatory Reporting obligations.  



In Delaware, every citizen is required by law to report suspicions of child abuse or neglect.  



Delaware’s Mandatory Reporting Law was amended on June 30, 2010. Not only are all 
persons required to report child abuse and neglect in Delaware, but agencies, organizations 
and entities are now required to report.   
 
Several individuals within one entity can make one report to DFS but the report must come 
from the person with the most detailed information. Names and contact information must 
also be provided for every person at the entity who has info regarding the report/incident.  
Two or more reporters from separate entities, such as a teacher and Family Crisis Therapist 
or a police agency and a hospital, will require a separate report from each. The different 
perspectives, plus the reality the entities will have different details, make separate reports 
the best process.  Therefore, relying on the other entity to make the report to DFS or 
conducting an internal screening prior to making a report is not appropriate.  



To be clear, the mandatory duty to report child abuse or neglect applies to all 
persons, and specifically includes institutions such as hospitals, nursing homes, and 
the Medical Society, which means that the employee and the employer will be held 
responsible for failure to report.  
 
When you suspect child abuse and neglect call the Division of Family Services 
Child abuse and neglect report line at 1-800-292-9582. It is not your responsibility 
to confirm or investigate the allegations prior to making a report. Your responsibility 
is to report any reasonable suspicion you may have that a child is being abused or 
neglected. In addition, never assume that another person or agency will report the 
abuse or neglect. You still must report. Lastly, it does not matter if your reports have 
not met the criteria for investigation in the past. Even though you cannot control the 
outcome, you still must report.   
 
The Department of Services for Children, Youth, and their Families is also obligated 
to report allegations made against a licensed professional to the Division of 
Professional Regulation. This Division provides oversight for Delaware’s licensed 
professionals. A list of the boards/commissions can be found at 
http://dpr.delaware.gov. 

http://dpr.delaware.gov/


Delaware law provides for immunity from liability for persons who in good faith report 
suspected abuse or neglect under the reporting law. The term "good faith" refers to the 
assumption that the reporter, to the best of his or her knowledge, had reason to believe that 
the child in question was being subjected to abuse or neglect.  



This immunity also extends to participation in any judicial proceeding that was the 
result of a good faith report of suspected abuse or neglect.  



Nearly every state imposes penalties on mandatory reporters who fail to report suspected 
child abuse or neglect as required by law. Delaware’s penalty for violation was changed 
from a criminal penalty to a civil penalty. The civil penalty for persons or entities who fail 
to report child abuse is not to exceed $10,000 for the first violation. The civil penalty for 
subsequent violations is not to exceed $50,000.  
Persons, agencies, organizations and entities will be referred to the Department of Justice 
for investigation if they fail to make mandatory reports of child abuse or neglect.  



Now that we understand our obligation to report child abuse and neglect, where to 
make the report, and the penalties for not reporting, we are going to begin to 
identify some of the physical and behavioral indicators for children who have been 
abused or neglected.  



We are also going to discuss parental indicators. These indicators are “red flags” that alert 
us to suspect abuse or neglect. You are responsible to report - not to confirm the abuse or 
neglect occurred before reporting.  



First we will define child abuse.  
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Title 10 of the Delaware Code under Courts and Judicial Procedure defines abuse.  
Abuse is defined as physical injury through unjustified force, as well emotional abuse, 
torture, exploitation, maltreatment, and mistreatment.  
Unjustified force will be explained more fully later in this presentation. 
"Emotional abuse" means threats to inflict undue physical or emotional harm, and/or 
chronic or recurring incidents of ridiculing, demeaning, making derogatory remarks or 
cursing.  
"Exploitation" means taking advantage of a child for unlawful or unjustifiable personal or 
sexual gain. 
“Mistreatment" or "maltreatment" are behaviors that inflict unnecessary or unjustifiable 
pain or suffering on a child without causing physical injury. Behaviors included will consist 
of actions and omissions, ones that are intentional and ones that are unintentional. 
The alleged perpetrator must also have care, custody, or control of the child, which means 
they are in a position of trust, authority, supervision, or control over the child on a 
temporary or permanent basis.  
Sexual abuse of children is also included in this statute, and it will be discussed in more 
detail later. But unlike physical abuse and the other forms of abuse listed, sexual abuse does 
not require care, custody or control for DFS to investigate allegations of sexual abuse 
against a child.  
Next, we are going to look more closely at physical abuse.  
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Here are some examples of child indicators of physical abuse. A few of the physical 
indicators are unexplained bruises or burns and human bite marks. Please familiarize 
yourselves with these as they will assist you in identification of child abuse. 



A behavioral indicator of abuse may be a child who is afraid to go home or a child 
who is withdrawn. A red flag may also be a child who chronically runs away from 
home or who is self destructive. Generally, these indicators suggest that a child's 
safety may be at risk and, at the very least, the situation should be assessed by a 
professional able to determine the causes of these symptoms and offer the help and 
assistance necessary to reduce the risk to a child. 
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The parent caretaker indicators describe the parent or caretaker’s reaction when confronted 
with the abuse allegations. It also factors in their parenting style, as well as other issues that 
may contribute to the parent being abusive or neglectful. For example, a parent may give an 
explanation that a one month old fractured his or her leg by rolling off the bed. However, 
the injury is not consistent with the child’s developmental capabilities, so that would be an 
unconvincing explanation. Infants usually roll over at 3 to 4 months.  



Let’s look at the difference between physical abuse and an accidental injury since accidental 
injuries are often cited as the cause of the inflicted injury. 
An accidental injury is an injury that occurs by chance. Falls are the leading cause of 
accidental injury for children ages 14 and under (according to the CDC). These injuries are 
often found on the bony areas of the body, such as the shins and elbows.  
Non-accidental injuries may be difficult to distinguish from accidental injuries, but 
reoccurring injuries likely indicate abuse. Failure to seek medical treatment for an injury is 
also suspicious for abuse.  
Additionally, injuries that appear in a pattern or resemble an object, such as a belt or shoe, 
were likely inflicted.  
Lastly, if the caregiver is unable to provide an explanation, or if the explanation is 
inconsistent with the facts, then the injury may have been inflicted. 
When in doubt, you should always call the child abuse report line at 1-800-292-9582.  



The conclusions from the medical examination and parent/caretakers factors are used to 
determine whether the injury is accidental or non-accidental. 



In determining whether the injury was inflicted, the physician will consider the location of 
the injury, the size and shape of the injury, and the number of injuries. As professionals, it is 
reasonable to conclude that multiple injuries in various stages of healing and injuries such 
as blunt force trauma, spiral fractures, and retinal hemorrhages are suspicious for abuse. 
Therefore, these incidents should be immediately reported to the Division of Family 
Services, so that these children can receive a medical examination. 
The Division of Family Service’s policy is children under age 9 must receive a medical 
examination by a physician when there is suspicion of abuse.  Children over age 9 may be 
medically assessed by a nurse or physician’s assistant.   
In addition to the physical examination, the physician will also consider whether the 
description of how the injury occurred and the appearance of the injury seem plausible. 
Medical diagnosis by the physician is critical in determining whether the injury was a result 
of abuse. Additionally, when there is a delay in seeking medical treatment, the physician 
will take that into consideration as well. Thus, as professionals, when you question a parent 
or caretaker’s explanation or have knowledge that the parent or caretaker delayed seeking 
medical attention, a report should also be made to DFS.  



Additionally, having knowledge of a parent or caretakers history may also lead you to 
suspect abuse or neglect. The risk factors for parents that are found to be associated with an 
increased likelihood of child maltreatment include: substance abuse, criminal history, 
domestic violence, childhood abuse, lack of social support and poverty.  
For this reason, DFS will determine whether these risk factors exist during its joint 
investigation with the police.  
(Understanding and Measuring Child Welfare Outcomes, 
http://cssr.berkeley.edu/bassc/public/outcomes_summ.pdfre) 
 



There are other factors taken into consideration when investigating child abuse and neglect. 
Abuse may be more likely to occur with a teen parent, with a child who has special medical 
needs, or with a parent that is feeling overwhelmed by child care responsibilities. 



Now that we understand physical abuse indicators, we are going to highlight the distinction 
between physical abuse and physical discipline.  



Discipline is defined as a process to help children learn appropriate behaviors and make 
good choices. Discipline teaches children right from wrong and how to learn from their 
mistakes.  
For example, a teen is cutting school regularly. As a disciplinary approach the parent may 
listen to the teen’s feelings and concerns about school. Together, the parent and teen discuss 
options for addressing the problem. 
Punishment, although it may seem interchangeable with discipline, is the practice of 
imposing something unpleasant or a sanction in response to the problem behavior.  
For example, a teen cutting school regularly is likely to have their driving privileges 
revoked, allowance cut, or phone use prohibited. 



In Delaware, physical discipline or punishment is not prohibited by law. However, title11 of 
the Delaware Code provides guidance for determining whether the physical injury occurred 
as a result of unjustified force and thus is abuse.  
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Unjustified force includes: throwing the child, kicking, burning, cutting, striking with a 
closed fist, interfering with breathing, use of or threatened use of a deadly weapon, 
prolonged deprivation of sustenance or medication, or doing any other act that is likely to 
cause or does cause physical injury, disfigurement, mental distress, unnecessary degradation 
or substantial risk of serious physical injury or death.  
DFS is required to notify law enforcement of potential criminal violations against a child.   
During the investigation, DFS and law enforcement will consider the size, age, condition of 
the child, location of the force, and the strength and duration of the force. Physical marks of 
abuse may not be present even if the force is unjustified. 



In medicine, a syndrome is a group of signs and symptoms that occur together and lead to a 
particular diagnosis. Victims of Shaken Baby Syndrome have a unique set of symptoms, 
including but not limited to bleeding over the surface of the brain, swelling of the brain, 
bleeding at the back of the eyes, and sometimes bruises under the arms and fractures of the 
ribs at the point at which the ribs join the spine. 
 
 
 
 
 
 



The primary reason children are shaken is to stop the child from crying. Often the 
frustration builds and the caregiver does NOT take care of himself or herself. As a 
result, the caregiver loses control and shakes the baby. 
Secondary triggers are often frustration with toilet training, the baby’s choosy 
appetite or a baby’s crankiness due to being sick.  



In general, most head trauma abusers are male and are the biological father of the 
child or the mother’s boyfriend. They may be less familiar with babies’ needs; they 
may have financial or family stressors; they may not be used to a baby’s crying and 
may use force to stop the crying. 
However, mothers, grandparents, stepparents, other relatives, and childcare 
providers can shake babies as well. 
Anyone who may become frustrated is capable of shaking a baby. 



When a baby is shaken, the veins that connect the brain to the membranes around it are torn.  This 
tearing causes bleeding over the surface of the brain, which damages brain cells and can cause loss 
of function in that area. 
As a baby’s brain hits against the skull during shaking, the brain swells in response to the trauma of 
the repeated impact.  When the brain starts to swell, it creates pressure on brain tissue.  If the 
swelling is not relieved, the brain tissue begins to die. 
The same whiplash motion that occurs in the skull occurs in the eye sockets, causing twisting and 
pulling of the eye within the socket. The injuries that result cause a unique type of retinal 
hemorrhage, and can permanently damage the optic nerves. 
Rib fractures in Shaken Baby Syndrome are usually seen along the back part of the rib cage and are 
caused by severe squeezing.  
Fractures of the long bones, the humerus in the upper arm and the femur in the upper leg, are also 
seen. When a baby’s arms and legs are flailing from lack of support during a violent shaking, the top 
ends of these long bones can tear away from the sockets, causing a separation of the bone at the top 
that resembles the handle of a bucket. 

The indicators of Abusive Head Trauma include: Lethargy, Difficulty breathing, 
Vomiting, Crying quieted to whimpering due to brain damage, and abnormal eye 
movements (which includes inability to track or to focus, and random or rolling or 
jerking eye movements).  
The long-term effects of shaking a baby can be significant and include:  

Learning and cognitive disabilities 
Behavioral disorders 
Blindness 



Paralysis on one or both sides 
Trauma-induced seizure disorders 
Loss of motor control 



Now, we are going to switch our focus to Sexual Abuse. Sexual abuse "means any act 
against a child that is described as a sex offense in Title 11 of the Delaware Code § 761, 
which includes sexual contact and sexual intercourse.   
It is estimated that 1 in 4 girls and 1 in 6 boys are sexually abused before their 18th 
birthdays, which is why prevention initiatives are so important. For child sexual abuse 
prevention training, please contact the Child Protection Accountability Commission for 
more information about participating in the Stewards of Children program.  
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As with physical abuse, there are also physical indicators of sexual abuse such as bruises or 
bleeding in the external genitals and frequent urinary tract infections or unexplained sore 
throats. At least 90% of sexually abused children have no evidence on physical 
examination. 



Early pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections (STIs) must also be mentioned 
here as possible indicators of sexual abuse. The behavioral indicators are 
particularly important with sexual abuse cases, because physical evidence may not 
always be present. 
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As professionals, we should consider the possibility of sexual abuse when the parent or 
caretaker exhibits the characteristics listed here. It is also important to note that there is 
evidence of a relationship between domestic violence batterers and sexual abusers due to 
their similar behaviors, which are often seen as controlling, threatening, and secretive.  
Additionally, sexual abusers often deny and minimize their behaviors, claim loss of control, 
claim provocation, build trust during the early parts of their relationship, depersonalize their 
victims, create divisions within the family, and discredit abuse disclosures.  
30 to 40 % of children are sexually abused by family members, and more than 90% of 
children who are sexually abused knew their abusers.  



In recognition of the fact that illicit sexual activity between adult males and teenage girls 
contributed to the high pregnancy rate in Delaware, this legislation was intended to combat 
teen pregnancy by imposing more severe criminal sanctions on adult males who are 
significantly older than their victims and holding them financially accountable when 
children are born in violation of this law. Thus, pregnant minors should also be reported to 
the Division of Family Services but only when abuse or neglect is also suspected. 
Any suspected rape of a minor (even by another minor) must be reported to DFS.  
Children under 12 years old can NOT legally consent to sexual contact. These cases MUST 
be reported to DFS.  
Consensual sexual contact between two minors does not require a mandatory report, even if 
that sexual contact results in a pregnancy. Children ages, 12 to 15, can ONLY consent to 
sexual contact with someone who is no more than 4 years older than the child. Sixteen and 
seventeen year olds can consent to sexual contact with someone who is under 30 years of 
age.   
However, for all children under the age of 18, they can NOT legally consent to sexual 
contact with anyone who is in a position of trust, authority or supervision (e.g. family 
member, babysitter, coach, teacher, doctor, clergy, etc.). If the person is in a position of 
trust, authority or supervision, you MUST report the incident to DFS.  



The penalties are harsher for those in a position of trust.  
A person in the position of trust, authority, or supervision is any person who assumes 
responsibility, whether temporarily or permanently, for the care or supervision of a child or 
children.  
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We are going to switch our focus to emotional maltreatment, which includes both emotional 
abuse and emotional neglect.  



Emotional abuse is defined as threats to inflict undue physical or emotional harm, 
and it may also include chronic or recurring incidents of ridiculing, demeaning, and 
making derogatory remarks. It is easiest to think of emotional abuse as active. For 
example, emotional abuse would occur if a parent told the child they were no good 
or the parent wished they had never been born.  
Emotional neglect is defined as incidents of isolating/shunning, rejecting, or 
ignoring a child. Therefore, emotional neglect is more passive and would occur if 
the parent is generally not interacting with the child or nurturing the child.  
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Please familiarize yourselves with the child indicators of emotional maltreatment. It is more 
difficult to substantiate emotional maltreatment since DFS needs to have evidence that the 
child’s emotional health has been impaired. Therefore, this type of finding is supported by 
mental health, social work, and counseling professionals working with the child. 
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Let’s discuss what to look for with the child’s parents or caretakers. The parent or caretakers 
may interact with the child by withholding love, seeing the child as bad or evil, ignoring, 
blaming, or rejecting the child, feeling unconcerned about the child or unwilling to accept 
help for the child’s problems.  



During an investigation, DFS will assess the existence of domestic violence by the 
caretakers and will provide resources to families as needed. 
  
For other professionals who become aware that a person is involved in an abusive 
relationship, the Domestic Violence Hotline is a resource that is available 24 hours a 
day for families in need of intervention.  



Now we are going to define neglect.  
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Title 10 of the Delaware Code under Courts and Judicial Procedure defines neglect. As with 
abuse, the alleged perpetrator must have care, custody, or control of the child. The parent or 
caretaker must also have the financial means to provide care for the child.  



However, neglect occurs when the parent or caretaker also fails to provide necessary 
care, which may be food, shelter, or medical care, or the parent or caretaker engages 
in substance abuse and the abuse impacts the care of the child, or the parent or 
caretaker fails to provide supervision.  
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Please review the child indicators of neglect, which includes a child who has been 
abandoned or who has no caretaker at home. A child left alone in a car is also included in 
this category. Any time you think a child is at imminent risk of harm or death, such as a 
baby locked in a hot car, you need to contact 911 immediately before calling the Report 
Line. 
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Parents often show signs of current mental health problems or limitations or substance 
abuse problems in these particular cases.  
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Child abuse and neglect and substance abuse have a strong correlation. However, substance 
abuse in and of itself is not considered child abuse.  The substance abuse has to impact the 
child’s care in a negative manner.   
An estimated 40%-80% of the 3 million children who come to the attention of the child 
welfare system each year live in families with substance abuse problems, according to 
numerous surveys of child welfare agencies nationwide. Additionally, children from 
substance abusing families are more likely to be placed in foster care and to remain there 
longer.  



DFS investigates reports from law enforcement of parents or caretakers Driving under the 
Influence and Boating under the Influence when a child is present.  
It’s important to note that this offense can impact a person’s ability to work in healthcare, 
childcare, or a public school.  
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Hospitals are required to make referrals to DFS for newborns affected by prenatal drug 
exposure. In fact, DFS accepts reports of prenatal drug use when an infant or mother tests 
positive for drugs at birth. The effects of exposure may include low birth weight, premature 
birth, failure to thrive, and neurobehavioral symptoms. More recently, following the 
reauthorization of the federal Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act in 2010, healthcare 
providers are also required to refer newborns diagnosed with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum 
Disorder. These newborns may have facial characteristics, growth restriction, or other 
abnormalities (birth defects) caused by prenatal alcohol use. Additionally, a plan of safe 
care will be developed which will reduce the child’s risk upon discharge from the hospital. 
A plan of safe care is not the same as a Safety Plan used by the Division of Family Services 
to maintain a child safely in the home. A plan of safe care could be services that are offered 
by the Division of Public Health’s Child Development Watch Program, for example, or 
services provided by A.I duPont Hospital for Children. 



There appear to be very few states with specific regulations that specify the age a child may 
be left alone. Delaware has no such law. The general recommendation is that children under 
the age of 12 should not be left home alone. Nevertheless, for any aged child, the child’s 
level of functioning, maturity, physical and mental health, length of time left alone, and the 
time of the day are taken into consideration in determining whether the parent acted 
appropriately in leaving the child alone. For example, leaving an extremely impulsive 12 
year old home alone over night would also be inappropriate.  



Let’s discuss Dependency next.  
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Title 10 of the Delaware Code under Courts and Judicial Procedure defines dependency.  
As with abuse and neglect, the alleged perpetrator must have care, custody, or control of the 
child. In contrast to neglect, the parent or caretaker does not have the financial means to 
provide care for the child.  



Dependency occurs when the parent or caretaker also fails to provide necessary care 
through no fault of their own, or the child is living in a nonrelated home on an 
extended basis, or the child was placed with a licensed agency that cannot complete 
a suitable adoption plan.  
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Parents may place their children with family members, but they may not place their children 
with non-relatives on an extended basis without the approval of DFS. The term extended 
basis is used to suggest that the child resides in the home as opposed to just visiting. DFS 
will explore the appropriateness of the placement through interviews, a home assessment, 
and background checks.  



Safe Arms for Babies allows a parent to leave their newborn (14 days or younger) in any 
Delaware hospital emergency department. They are also given immunity from criminal 
prosecution for the abandonment of their child.  



After a child discloses abuse or neglect or if you have a reasonable suspicion, your next step 
is to make a report to the child abuse report line.  
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The child should not be interviewed beyond the disclosure. Minimal facts should only be 
gathered to avoid interfering with the investigative process.  
To reduce the trauma to the child, photographs will be taken and interviews will be 
conducted by a member of the multi-disciplinary team. This team will be identified later in 
the presentation.  
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All suspected child abuse and neglect in the state of Delaware must be reported to the child 
abuse report line at 1-800-292-9582. However, when a child’s life is in danger, you should 
call 911 immediately.  
Even when you know the case is active with DFS and further abuse or neglect is suspected 
you must call the child abuse report line.  
Every report is reviewed by a DFS report line supervisor. If informed that your report does 
not meet criteria for investigation and you continue to have concerns, you should ask to 
speak to a report line supervisor. The report line worker is required to give his or her name 
if you request it, as well as their supervisor’s name.  
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The report should be made by the person who spoke to or observed the child, because the 
report line may have additional questions.  
One entity can make one report PROVIDED that it: (1) is from the individual with the most 
detailed information, and (2) provides the names and contact information for every person 
at that entity who has information regarding the report/incident.  
As for two or more reporters from separate entities (e.g., hospital and police agency), those 
should be a separate report from each. The different perspectives, plus the reality that they 
will even have different details, makes separate reports the best process.  
The report will be accepted if the problems identified suggest a child is abused, neglected, 
or dependent or is at risk of being abused, neglected, or dependent. If the reported is 
investigated, the report will be an invaluable source of information for subsequent reports 
made regarding the alleged victim or perpetrators.  
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This is the Mandatory Reporting Form. In addition to making a report, professionals should 
complete the Mandatory Reporting form and fax or mail it to DFS within 72 hours. The 
form can be found online at I See The Signs.Org.  
This form provides DFS with additional documentation about the report, and it can be used 
as a guide when making an oral report.  The front page contains the demographic 
information and the back page is where you will describe the abuse or neglect.  Diagrams 
are also available on the back page for medical professionals to document injuries. 
Please understand that as a mandated reporting entity, when there is no reporting source 
there will be no way to confirm that you fulfilled your responsibility to report.  



The information you provide when making a report assists DFS in determining whether the 
report meets criteria for investigation and when it does - how quickly to respond.  
Demographics will usually be found in the child’s records. If you already have the 
information, then there’s no need to ask the child.  
Once the child discloses to you what happened and if it includes who the alleged abuser is 
and when and where the incident took place, then you will not need to ask any more 
questions. You simply need to thank the child for telling you and make sure the child knows 
that you believe him or her.  
Asking more questions about the incident is when you’ve gone beyond asking the minimal 
facts. In fact, you have begun to interview the child. As professionals, we must allow only 
trained interviewers, such as DFS workers, law enforcement personnel or forensic 
interviewers at the Children’s Advocacy Center, to interview child victims of abuse or 
neglect. In addition, if you happen to sit in on an interview that is being conducted by DFS 
or law enforcement, you must not interfere by asking questions. Untrained interviewers tend 
to ask leading questions, which can contaminate the child’s recollection of events. This 
could hinder an investigation, which could result in the child being returned to the home 
where the abuse is suspected to be occurring.  
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HIPAA does not preclude reporting suspected child abuse.  



The Division of Family Services receives reports for all children in the State of Delaware 
that have been abused or neglected. Upon receipt of the report, DFS will do one of three 
things: accept the report and investigate the allegations; refer the report to law 
enforcement for investigation; or document the report but not investigate the allegations.  

 
 



Children are best served when there is collaboration among the entities investigating child 
abuse and neglect. The multidisciplinary team often involves the Division of Family 
Services, the Department of Justice, law enforcement, the Children’s Advocacy Center, and 
sometimes a medical or mental health professional or Guardian Ad Litem.  
The Memorandum of Understanding between the Department of Services for Children, 
Youth and Their Families, the Children’s Advocacy Center, the Department of Justice and 
the Delaware Police Departments provides support with the collaborative intervention. DFS 
has a copy of the MOU posted on its website.  
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DFS will share information when there is a signed release of information. However, the 
multidisciplinary team will exchange information when it is relevant to an investigation 
involving a shared client.  



Now we would like to discuss some other types of abuse or neglect that are potential 
warning signs of child abuse or neglect.  



Animal abuse, elder abuse, and child trafficking have a strong correlation with child abuse 
and neglect.  
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Studies have shown that serial killers or other individuals who have committed mass 
murders have a history of animal abuse during their childhood. For instance, in the first 
study, more than half of violent offenders had committed animal cruelty as children. Thus, 
animal abuse is a risk factor that we should be aware of as professionals working with 
children.  
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Please note the similarities between the indicators of elder abuse to child abuse and neglect.  



For instance, balding and burns were discussed as physical indicators for child 
abuse. Similarly, the elderly are also deprived of their physical and medical needs.  



The elderly exhibit similar behavioral indicators as children. Fear, withdrawal, and denial 
are common amongst both populations.  
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Perpetrators of elder abuse share indicators as well, such as blaming or threatening the 
alleged victim.  



Oftentimes, perpetrators of child abuse will provide a story that conflicts with the 
child’s statement or the perpetrator is not willing to comply with treatment. These 
factors exist with perpetrators of elder abuse as well.  
Occasionally, DFS and the Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical 
Disabilities will conduct investigations for both issues within the same family. 
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Although it’s not widely recognized, child trafficking is an emerging concern in Delaware 
and nationally. As you can see, when one type of abuse or neglect is present, you need to be 
aware that other types of abuse or neglect may also be present 
 



Here’s a list of useful State of Delaware websites, which provide additional information and 
resources related to child welfare.  
 



Presenters – Do not discuss specific Division of Family Services cases in front of the entire 
audience.  If an attendee wants to discuss a specific case, ask them to contact Kriston 
Lowry-Sims at 302-633-2714.  Kriston handles constituent relations for the Division. 



Finally, please go to Iseethesigns.org. The website provides additional resources for 
identifying and reporting child abuse. In addition, its part of a comprehensive media 
outreach campaign which was created to alert the general public to the magnitude of 
the problem of child abuse, the duty to report child abuse, and who the real dangers 
are to children.  
The campaign’s message, “See the Signs, Make the Call,” serves as a call to action 
and a reminder that ensuring the safety of our children is everyone’s responsibility. 
Thank you for taking the time to participate in this training that will increase 
awareness of reporting child abuse and neglect.  




