~ Our Mission: To ensure safeguards and enhance quality for children in out-of-home care. ~
Dear Center Administrators and Licensed Family and Large Family Child Care Providers,
Beginning September 1, 2017, new comprehensive background checks must be completed on all current and future child care persons. These checks are required under the federal Child Care Development Block Grant Reauthorization Act. If the fingerprinting for comprehensive background checks is not completed prior to your 2018 child care license renewal, you will be cited for noncompliance and issued a provisional license.
The comprehensive background checks includes:
♦ Federal Bureau of Investigation and State Bureau of Identification fingerprint checks.
♦ New! A search of the National Crime Information Center’s National Sex Offender Registry.
♦ New! A search of the following registries, repositories, or databases in the state where the child care person resides, and in each state in which they resided during the past 5 years:
(a). State criminal and sex offender registry or repository; and
(b). State-based child abuse and neglect registry and database.
The procedures to complete the comprehensive checks are as follows:
- All current child care persons must be fingerprinted before your 2018 child care license expires. Future child care persons must be fingerprinted and the background checks completed before the start of employment/residing in a child care home.
Fingerprint appointments in New Castle County and Sussex County are scheduled with the Delaware State Police by calling 302-739-2528.
In Kent County, no appointment is necessary. The walk-in hours are Monday 8:30 a.m to 6:30 p.m and Tuesday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. The location is Blue Hen Corporate Center, 655 South Bay Road, Suite 1B, Dover, Delaware 19901. For information in Kent County, call 302-739-5871. There is no fee for the fingerprinting.
- Centers - The administrator must give each child care person a completed Center Verification Form to take to the fingerprinting appointment. This form shall be presented to the person taking the fingerprints. After the fingerprints are obtained, the child care person will receive a Receipt/Verification of Fingerprints Form from the State Police as proof of fingerprinting. This form shall be given by the child care person to the administrator and maintained in the person’s personnel file.
Family and Large Family – The child care person provides the child care name at the time of fingerprinting. After the fingerprints are obtained, the child care person will receive a Receipt/Verification of Fingerprints Form from the State Police as proof of fingerprinting. This form shall be given by the child care person to the provider. The provider sends this form for each person including themselves with their 2018 license renewal application to the Office of Child Care Licensing.
- In addition to the fingerprinting, child care persons who currently reside or have resided outside of Delaware in the last 5 years must contact each state of residence during that time and request a criminal history search and a child abuse and neglect search. After the out of state searches are completed, the administrator/provider must submit the results immediately to the
Office of Child Care Licensing, Criminal History Unit
via fax to 302-633-5191,
via email to DSCYF_CHU@state.de.us or
via postal mail to
DSCYF Criminal History Unit, Concord Plaza–Hagley Building,
3411 Silverside Road, Wilmington, DE 19810.
Use the following links for the contact information to complete the searches:
Out of State Criminal History Search: http://www.myfbireport.com/locations/stateBureaus.php
Out of State Child Abuse and Neglect Search: http://www.centerforchildwelfare.org/ChildProtective/AdamWalsh.pdf
- After the comprehensive background check is completed, the Criminal History Unit will make an eligibility determination and email the results to the licensed child care contact person who is responsible for receiving background check notifications. If the email to receive results of the background checks changes, please contact your licensing specialist and provide the new email address.
This comprehensive background check is required each time a person is hired and every 5 years after their hire date even if employment is maintained at the same center.
If you have further questions regarding these procedures, please contact Laura Dennis or Patricia O’Rourke, Office of Child Care Licensing, Criminal History Specialists at 302-892-5800.