The Mission of the K-5 Early Intervention Program is to establish a collaborative partnership between schools and family service agencies to serve children and their families. This is accomplished through a variety of services which enable the children to achieve academic and social success.

What Is The K-5 Program?

In fulfilling Delaware’s commitment to improve the school environment for children, the K-5 Program (originally The K-3 Program) was developed in FY96. This innovative program is a collaborative effort between the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families (DSCYF), Division of Management Support Services, the Department of Education (DOE) and participating public school districts. Participation in the program is for children attending Kindergarten through fifth grade and their families. The K-5 Early Intervention Program addresses issues within the home that affect performance in the classroom. The goal is to enable families to support the social and academic growth and the healthy development of children so they may attain positive outcomes in school.

Services that are provided though the K-5 Early Intervention Program are:

  • Individual Counseling
  • Family Counseling
  • Play Therapy
  • Child/Parent Support Groups
  • Collaboration with the School and Outside Agencies
  • Social Skills Workshops for Children
  • Conflict Resolution
  • Discipline Alternatives
  • Location of Resources (as needed)

Who Is Eligible To Participate In The Program?

  • The child must attend Kindergarten through fifth grade in one of the participating schools.
  • The child must be recommended by school personnel. Each school has a team of professionals who review recommendations.
  • The K-5 Program can serve a limited number of children and their families. Priority for selection is given to children exhibiting the greatest need.

Who Are The Service Providers?

Family Crisis Therapist, who work for the Office of Prevention and Early Intervention, are located in the schools to provide the services of the K-5 Program.

Participating School Districts and Schools


New Castle County

Brandywine School District

  • Brandywood
  • Darley Road
  • Forwood
  • Maple Lane
  • Mt. Pleasant

Charter Schools

  • East Side Charter School
  • Kuumba Academy Charter School
  • Thomas Edison Charter School

Christina School District

  • Bancroft
  • Brookside
  • May B. Leasure
  • Pulaski

Colonial School District

  • Carrie Downie
  • Castle Hills
  • Colwyck
  • Eisenberg
  • Pleasantville
  • Southern
  • Wilbur
  • Wilmington Manor

Red Clay Consolidated School Districts

  • Austin D. Baltz
  • Highlands
  • Richardson Park
  • Richey
  • Shortlidge
  • Warner
  • William C. Lewis

Kent County

Capital School District

  • East Dover
  • Fairview
  • North Dover
  • South Dover
  • Towne Point

Caesar Rodney School District

  • W.B. Simpson

Charter School

  • Academy of Dover

Lake Forest School District

  • Lake Forest East
  • Lake Forest North
  • Lake Forest South

Woodbridge School District

  • Woodbridge

Sussex County

Cape Henlopen School District

  • H.O. Brittingham

Indian River School District

  • East Millsboro
  • Frankford
  • Georgetown
  • Long Neck

Laurel School District

  • North Laurel
  • P.L. Dunbar

Milford School District

  • Benjamin Banneker
  • Evelyn Morris Early Childhood

Seaford School District

  • Blades
  • Fredrick Douglass
  • Seaford Central
  • West Seaford

DSCYF K-5 Program Contact Information

Mailing Address: 1825 Faulkland Road, Wilmington, DE 19805
Telephone: 302-892-4576 (DSCYF Early Intervention Unit)
Email: opei.dscyf@state.de.us